It’s a process

Learning crutches
Learning crutches
The most stressful part of preparing to move to a new country is learning the language.  On one hand, you MUST learn as much as you can when you have the time, but on the other hand, you need to retain everything you are cramming into your brain.  Personally, I do my best to speak Turkish with my husband whenever I can.  This is a hindrance to him, though, because he needs to keep using his english in order to stay fluent.

Besides my limited grammar and stunted vocabulary, my biggest failing is my listening skill is horrendous.  I can understand my husband when he is speaking, and I can understand his father…but his mother sometimes speaks too fast and ALL TV shows worth watching (i.e. NOT sesame street!) are the same.  I’ve taken to listening to turkish pop in an attempt to grab some words and become accustomed to their pronunciation, besides by my own tongue. I have taken to the following:

  1. Tarkan
  2. Mustafa Sandal
  3. Maher Zain

I’m still exploring other musicians, but these are pretty easy to understand!

Leave a Reply

