Teaching, The future, and World Hijab Day!

  I have been neglecting my blog as of late, but I don’t think anyone truely minds, since I am the only one who looks at it… 

  Anyway,  this term I have been teaching the food microbiology lab with three lovely ladies.  We have only officially taught one lab so far, but I think I like it!  As much as a claim to dislike people,  I like to answer questions and explain things to people who don’t understand.  I even threw some doodles on the white board to help explain how to conduct the experiment…I think it helped!  Smart mouths and slack are still irritating to me, but you know what?  Its not my grade! HAH!

 In regards to the future… My husband has been expressing his concerns about returning to Turkey.  The University he signed up under (the one in which he will teach when we return) is not exactly his first choice these days.  Actually, its pretty close to his last (not including those in a region he doesn’t want to travel to).  I tell him all he can do is his best, and if it is nasip (fate) he won’t have to teach there.  I am doing my best to obtain good grades, have good experiences, and prepare myself for a potential job in industry there.  We are hoping (insallah) that if I get a job in the city his family is from that will influence his options for placement when he returns (apparently that’s a thing in Turkey?).  All we can do is wait and see. Hayirlisi olsun.

Lastly, WORLD HIJAB DAY is on Feb 1! I encourage muslims and non-muslims alike to don the hijab for a day as a sign of solidarity with our hijabi sisters.  The hijab has been banned in a few countries, which is explicitely against human rights!  Let’s remind everyone that the right to wear a scarf on ones head belongs to everyone, regardless of race, religion, or country!  Check out the movement at worldhijabday.com or on facebook!

Leave a Reply

