Alcohol-less Sangria

One of the hardest parts of living a more halal life is giving up alcohol.  I won’t lie to you- I’ve been quite the fan.  In order to make this transition easier, I started looking up mocktails (alcohol-less cocktails!).  The first thing I tried was a tonic and lime…no vodka for this girl!  I found I liked it, so I went to good old Uncle Google for somemore ideas.

I looooove sangria (or should I say, loved), so when I saw this recipe- I knew I had to try it.  I already had two glasses of it today! The hubby loves it too!  This means…I must share!

Deliciously halal
Deliciously halal
Ingredients:
  • 2c black tea (2c hot water, 2 packets of black tea)
  • 1/2c sugar
  • 3c fruit juice (cran grape is good)
  • 1 orange, sliced
  • 1 lemon, sliced
  • 1 lime, sliced
  • 2 plums, sliced (or any other fruit you like!)
  • dash of cinnamon
  • serve with: club soda
Preparation:
  1. Boil water and steep 2 bags of black tea in 2c of water for about 5 minutes
  2. Add sugar and a dash of cinnamon to the tea, mix and let it dissolve
  3. Put the tea in a pitcher with the sliced fruit and juice. Stir well
  4. Allow the mix to sit for at least an hr in the fridge, best is overnight
  5. Serve with a splash of club soda and ice
Afiyet olsun!
Leave a Reply

