Summer heat

I’ve been wearing the hijab since February, so this is my first summer of complete covering.  I’ve been scouring the web for ways to beat the heat-  which is very intense here.  It’s been climbing to mid 90s as of late, and it’s only May…  here I will highlight the bits and pieces that I have collected from other sisters, and also things that I have found myself.

1.  Choose your fabrics carefully

Let’s face it, some fabrics just aren’t going to work.  Some tend to retain moisture or not let it pass, aka, breathe. One fabric you should DEFINITELY avoid (in my experience) is polyester.  This can be incredibly hard since polyester has taken over the textile industry.  But maybe it works for you, but I know for me- I sweat like crazy!

Fabrics that I personally ADORE are: rayon, cotton, and viscose. In that order.  I know you see cotton and say “YES! NATURAL!”, but be wary- the thickness is very important!   Additionally, nylon is fantastic for swimming attire. Also, if you google breathable fabrics you will see that acrylic is listed- but I’ve found that it doesn’t breath for me at all- I bought a fun ombre scarf that was acrylic- and boy do I get sweaty!

2. Denim jackets

Denim/ jean jackets are a MUST have staple for the summer hijabi wardrobe.  I know, I know, it seems they could make you hotter- but being cotton, it DOES breath.  Additionally, you don’t see pit stains in these bad boys!  My go-to cover up is a denim jacket!  Be sure it’s fairly loose, however, to insure a good breeze.

3.  Tanktops and low cut shirts

WAIT!  WAIT! Just hear me out!!

When coupled with a cover-up (thin cardigan or denim jacket) and a properly wrapped scarf (and LOTS of safety pins for securing it to your shirt),  these open clothes are perfect for catching the breeze and allowing evaporation of your persperation.  But you have to be careful and apply plenty of safety pins to keep everything in check!  I end up using more pins for my clothes/scarf attachment rather than for attaching my scarf to my head! But it is SO worth it!

4.Sport headbands

A good 4″-5″ headband is a GREAT alternative to an underscarf on a hot day- allowing for more air to pass over your scalp.  Using berretts (hair clips) to secure the band to your head will keep it in place all day, while still being able to secure your scarf to your head.  Additionally, dont be afraid to stick a pin into your hair tie in your bun, it works just as well as sticking it in an underscarf!  (I also suggest using mousse or hair spray to help slick back your baby hairs when using this technique.)

5. Linen pants and maxi skirts/ dresses

  Linen pants are a miraculous joy that jumped out and surprised me.  I was looking for some loose and flowing pants at a thrift shop and was having no luck.  However,  a relaxed, wide legged olive colored linen trouser was hanging on the rack.  Well, I needed SOMETHING, so I tried it on….and fell in LOVE!  I LOVE LINEN!  This is a STAPLE.  For days that the wind is too strong for a dress, wide legged linen trousers allow for the cool passage of the breaze on your legs but the coverage is still there, and it isn’t see-through.

Maxi skirts and dresses speak for themselves.  They are very comfortabole and modest.  Be sure to wear a slip, though, I have yet to find a maxi skirt/dress that isn’t a little transparent.

Inshallah this helps sisters as much as it helps me.

#hijabiproblems

One thought on “Summer heat

Leave a Reply

