Ramadan Day 2: A missed opportunity

Today I had to go to school in order to complete some laboratory work for my research.  With much debate and inner struggle, I decided not to fast today, because I was concerned that driving, working, and whatnot may not be so safe for a first-time-faster.  My husband agreed and encouraged me to make up my fast later.  I already knew I’d be missing days 3 and 4 since I will be doing farm work in the field under the blazing summer sun.  Inshallah I will take it back up on Day 5.

Instead of relief and comfort from being able to eat and drink as I please, I feel guilt.  I feel as though I am missing out on something amazing.  There are ~1.6 billion people fasting together today as one religious nation (Ummah), and I am not part of that!

Inshallah I find the physical and mental fortitude to fast even when I’m active.

Leave a Reply

