Whey soup/ Peynir suyu corba

Last weekend I made a gallon-of-milk worth of biberli lor!  This left me with about 10 cups of whey (the yellowish liquid remaining after cheese is made)!  Never wanting to waste, I asked my mother-in-law what I could do with this peynir suyu (cheese juice) and she advised I make a soup.  I wasn’t sure what kind of soup I could make with this slightly acidic, dairy flavored juice…. so she gave me this recipe.  While the hubby insists it doesn’t taste just like the original*, I adore it…dare I say, I eat enough for both of us.  Following in turkish tradition, I don’t know exactly what the measurements are for this soup- I simply eye-ball it, but I will try to guess the measurements for those who aren’t accustomed to “approximate cooking”.

Whey soup with all the extras

*When I made lor cheese the first time, I used vinegar to precipitate the cheese proteins, which results in a vinegary whey.  On separate occasions I used lemon juice and citric acid (from a cheese making kit), respectively…both resulted in a sweeter whey that does taste like the mom-authentic version :).  I’m just incredibly lazy to ream seven or eight lemons….

Ingredients

  • 3-4c whey
  • 3tbsp flour
  • 1 heaping tbsp butter
  • vermicelli or cappelini, broken into 3 segments
  • salt to taste
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1 chicken buillion cube (optional)
  • other optional ingredients include:
    • spinach
    • mushroom
    • garlic

Preparation

  1. Pour the whey into a pot and bring it to a soft boil.
  2. Add optional spinach/ mushroom and vermicelli/cappelini, boiling until cooked
  3. In a separate pan, add butter and melt (cook the garlic with the butter if you opted for garlic). Add flour and mix well, forming a yellow paste.
  4. Take a ladle-full of hot whey from the pot and pour it in the pan with flour, whisking thoroughly and adding more whey by the ladle-full until dissolved (the paste will because goopier and goopier, until it is completely smooth).
  5. Pour the flour/butter/whey concoction into the main pot, whisking thoroughly to keep clumps out.  Let the soup simmer until thick.
  6. Add salt to taste before serving, sprinkle the bowl with black pepper as desired.

Afiyet olsun!

Leave a Reply

