TMJ Update: Night guard

Yep, back on that TMJ grind…no pun intended (ba du CH!)

About a week ago I was waking up in the middle of the night due to a loud and painful pop in my left jaw (the side that was operated on).  Even with the muscle relaxer, the popping continued.  I thought it may be from night-time tooth grinding (bruxism) which I know I suffer from.

Because a dentist-made guard costs like…$500…I bought an over-the-counter night guard for 10$ on sale.  I’ve been using it for almost a week and I feel like it, coupled with the muscle relaxer, has made a world of difference.  While my opening is still limited like before, I feel like I am having fewer…i dont know…sensations (?) in my jaw.  Not necessarily pain, per se, but an awareness of something wrong. Anyway, I think it’s helped a lot.

Leave a Reply

