National US Maritime Day

  Yesterday we took a day trip to the beach, and it happened to be US Maritime Day…how appropriate!

picnicThe water was still too cold for swimming, but we did wade around up to our calves.  Most of the time was spent lounging under the umbrella on the shore.  The temperature was a comfortable mid 80s, with clear blue skies. A great day for a drive and a siesta in the shade!  The sound of the ocean is so relaxing!

Beachbum Sunny

As is the norm for any of our beach visits- I got plenty of looks for my curious bathing attire.  Yes everyone, I cover most of myself- but is that a bad thing? I don’t have to worry too much about sun exposure, I stay cooler (especially after getting in the water, the suit stays wet and the breeze keeps me very cool), sand doesn’t end up in naughty places…why isn’t everyone donning a full body get-up?  And no, it doesn’t hinder my ability to swim at all; it feels just as light as wearing nothing!

tide beach

I won’t lie, this wasn’t the most beautiful beach I’ve been to- but I do love the sand of Floridian beaches.  The view at the beaches in Izmir were outstanding- but the ground was  much more rocky .  The same goes for South Carolina, where the beaches have more pebbles than sugary white sand.  However, any beach in the US will trump Turkey in one category- public bathrooms.  In the US they are free.

   Hopefully we will be going back to our favorite beach before we leave the state (pictured below).

DSCN2323

One thought on “National US Maritime Day

  1. Hi!

    I found your blog by luck and I am so glad I did. I am Canadian, also 25, and living in Turkey with my guy. I feel as though we are walking similar paths and I would love to discuss it more. Feel free to send me an email!

Leave a Reply

