Quote Challenge: Day 1, a surah

I was graciously tagged ( 😉  ) by Cheryl at Four Camels and a Coffee to Go to undertake the quote challenge…stick around to the end of the post to see the rules and who I tagged!

And surely what comes after is better for you than that which has gone before.

-Surah Al-Duha (Quran 93:4)

Ok, say what you will.  Yes, I did chose a religious verse as my first quote.  Particularly because I have been returning to this short snippet over and over again as of late. Although it arguably refers to the afterlife, I like to think it means something else as well.

Despite the constant stream of excitement I have been blasting on my blog about moving to Turkey soon (inshallah), it would be a lie to say that I’m not scared.   I worry a lot about how I am going to make it in a new country, with new customs, and how to balance my own culture with the one I am adopting.  Being on a crowded train without understanding the background conversations? To me, that’s scary.

I keep looking at this verse as a promise of hope.  Surely, this next step of my life will be even better than the one that came before…?

The Quote Challenge:

Post a quote for three consecutive days (an original or just a quote that you like).

Rules:  Thank the person you tagged you and nominate three more to keep it going!
And I knight…

Your Mountain is Waiting

Problems with Infinity

From the Seven Hills of Istanbul

One thought on “Quote Challenge: Day 1, a surah

  1. I think this verse perfectly suits where you are right now. I am hopeful that your future is in Turkey and that you adapt to the culture and its language within a short and painless length of time. I know certain aspects seem challenging but you will have your husband and his family as supporters and teachers as you learn. And once you learn, you will have that understanding you need in order to feel more confident.

Leave a Reply

