My bucket list

A post by feisty harriet popped up on my reader a week or so ago, where she listed her own bucket list.  While most of my experiences with bucket lists are movie related- I never thought to make one for myself.  I am always saying “I want to do this”…but then I never write it down, and many dreams and goals are forgotten.

As I wrap up the end of my graduate school journey and look forward to starting a new chapter of my life in Turkey (or maybe it’s more like a new book?), I know that I will have a lot of free time.  Even more, I have spent a quarter of a century on this planet, 25 years have come and gone in the blink of an eye…it is about time I buckle down and iron out  what I want to do with the time I have left.  Who knows how long that may be…no one is promised tomorrow!

So without further ado,  here is a list of 30 things that I would consider to be part of my bucket list…in no particular order.:

  1. Master the Turkish language

  2. Learn to ride a bike

  3. Go snorkeling

  4. Catch, clean, and cook a fish (the same fish!)

  5. Go sailing

  6. Go camping

  7. Learn Arabic

  8. Read the whole Quran in Arabic, cover to cover

  9. Have a child

  10. Raise them well

  11. Paint a mural

  12. Have a Turkish wedding

  13. Take a train across Europe

  14. Go on Hajj

  15. Drink Zam Zam water

  16. Visit Capadoccia, Antalya, and Pamukkale, Turkey

  17. Own a house

  18. Find a private beach and spend the day there

  19. Make a cultured cheese (as in bacteria, not sophistication haha)

  20. Plant a fruit tree and harvest it

  21. Milk a cow

  22. Learn the Zeybek dance and do it with my husband

  23. Be married 50 years

  24. Stop cursing- full stop

  25. Knit a blanket

  26. Visit California

  27. Visit the Bahamas or Jamaica

  28. Go on a cruise

  29. Butcher a cow

  30. Feed a hungry person

What’s on your bucket list?  Do you think it is important to make your goals very realistic- or do you like to have grandiose dreams?

Actually, I think I may make this a page for my blog and cross them out as I complete them…what do you think? 🙂

4 thoughts on “My bucket list

  1. This is a great idea! You can do just about anything you set your mind onto, including grandiose dreams. Whatever you do, wherever you go, just enjoy life to the fullest. Setting yourself goals and challenges will make the journey even more worthwhile. Have fun crossing of that list!

    PS: I’m particularly curious about #29. Why do you want to butcher a cow?

    1. Haha yeah butchering a cow might come off kind of bizarre… but I am a HUGE fan of farm to fork (meaning that you get involved in every aspect of your food), and I want to be very hands-on.

Leave a Reply

