A Visit From a Friend

A friend from America came to visit me!

Well, that sounds rather dramatic- doesn’t it?  Actually, she had moved to Turkey just short of a month before we did- in search of a job.  Her parents being from Turkey, she has the great advantage of already speaking Turkish fairly well.

Anyway, that’s her back story to tell.

It was so nice having a fellow American in the house for a few days! We had a great time visiting the beach, shopping at the boardwalk, and exploring the Pazar!

boardwalk

However, this visit did make me realize that I need to work harder on my Turkish.  While I thought I was getting better- she mowed me down with her amazing grasp of Turkish language, grammar, and cultural expressions (mashallah).  Although she insistently told me that my Turkish is getting pretty good, I can’t help but feel like I am so far behind.  I know I can do better, but I guess it’s something that takes time.  We’ve only been here for a few weeks- after all.

I prepared many delicious foods with Anne while our guest was here, and I will be sharing a few recipes with you shortly!

2 thoughts on “A Visit From a Friend

Leave a Reply

