Hunt for the Holy Grail- TURKISH COFFEE

No I didn’t forget about this series and no I haven’t been procrastinating… (maybe a tiny bit).  I have finally written up my Turkish coffee experiences! This one took a while because we don’t often branch out from the traditional Turkish coffee,  so it took a while to compile more than 2 types.  Now I have 3, and one of them I don’t even know the name of because we were served it by family at their house.  So forgive the scattered mess that is this post, I’m really trying my best here haha.  There are some shortcuts that are missing on the wordpress app that sorely need to be added (like center alignment…).

Note: filtered coffee is taking even longer because I don’t want to buy more than one type at a time… So I’m half way through a bag of Starbucks hehe. Be patient please.

OK, so,  turkish coffee.  My overall dislike for it (the unpopular opinion it seams), is due mostly to the sludge that remains on the bottom of your cup.  Turkish coffee is ground to powder fineness (it appears as powdered cocoa), brought to boiling with a bit of sugar in a special pot called a cezve, then the foam is spooned and the remainder poured into your cup without filtration.  Unlike cocoa, the coffee doesn’t dissolve. It settles into a sludge on the bottom of your cup.  Traditionally no milk nor additional sugar is added after it is made.  Another failing, in my opinion.

It’s consumed in small cups and typically drank in the afternoons or evenings. Often served with chocolate.  Coffee is not for the mornings in Turkey!

TRADITIONAL

image

A finely ground Columbia bean, no frills.

Taste: 4/10
I have never been a fan of Columbia beans.  They, and subsequently this coffee, tends to be sharp and flat with no nuance to speak of. I’m sure many people will disagree with me, but that’s my opinion.  The lack of milk keeps the coffee bitter and the “medium” (traditional) level of sugar is not nearly enough for me.  With a splash of milk and another spoon of sugar it can be done.

Texture: 1/10 (with chocolate,  7/10)
My god how I hate the sludge and grit of Turkish coffee.  I simply can’t.  However, I have found that if you drop your bit of chocolate into your coffee and give it a stir, the grit suddenly becomes more like a coffee chocolate treat (I don’t remember the name of those little bites I got from Trader Joe’s back home) and is instantly better than palatable, it’s nice! Drink down that melt chocolate sludge mmmmm!

Aroma: 9/10
Now,  aroma is something Turkish coffee has in spades.  The scent permeates your house when you prepare it. Yay!

Total: 3/10 (with chocolate 6/10)

MIRVARI COFFEE

image

Traditional Turkish coffee with a twist! The addition of gum mastic, carob, salep, and coffee creamer (among a few others) directly into the grinds adds dimension to the otherwise bland coffee bean.  When I was first served this coffee,  there were two cooks in the kitchen… Meaning the coffee got a double dose of sugar, which was AMAZING.  The older family members refused to drink it that sweet, but it was OK by me and hubby! However, I’ll rate taste based on a normal amount of sugar.

Taste: 7/10
Instead of having one note, the addition of carob and salep elevates the flavor of this coffee to one of delight and complexity. Even better,  the combined effects of salep and the creamer give it that slightly milky flavor I love, also cutting out the bitter side of the coffee beans. Mmmm Mmmm good. When you go overboard on the sugar,  it’s a solid 8.

Texture: 8/10
The gum mastic and coffee creamer thicken this coffee to a delicious level,  and the grounds are not at all a problem with these additions.

Aroma: 9/10
The added ingredients don’t change the aroma of the coffee.  If anything,  it adds a sweetness from the

Total: 8/10

THE UNIDENTIFIED JOY OF MY LIFE

WHYYYYY didn’t I write down the name! Why?! Anne said she’d remember it for me, but I should have known better! This coffee,  dare I say, is the best coffee I’ve tasted across the board (as of this moment). It has all of the additions of the MIRVARI coffee, but also a few more such as memengiç (which I have no idea what it is in English), harnup (again idr the name) , and maybe a few more.  All I remember is that it was mehmet efendi brand in a yellow pouch.  If you know what it is, let me know! I feel incomplete without it.

Disclaimer: hubby didn’t like it very much

Taste: 10/10
WOW.  The spice blend and addition of milky products directly into the mixture is just… So delicious.  It hits your taste buds and gives you a multi level experience.  Depth of coffee,  middle tingle of carob and spices, and topping it off with milkiness.  So good. Perfect even.

Texture: 9/10
The only downside to this coffee is that it isn’t filtered.  However, the addition of spices and chocolate make the sludge pleasant. As pleasant as it can be.

Aroma: 9/10
No change from the others.

Total: 9.75/10
It wants so bad to be a 10, but like I said before, I don’t want to give out a 10 while other coffees remain untried.

One thought on “Hunt for the Holy Grail- TURKISH COFFEE

Leave a Reply

