Bathroom Monitor

So apparently there’s a new movement in the US about transgendered people using the bathroom?

I guess it creates jobs because we will be needing a ton of bathroom monitors?

I was discussing this with my friend(s) and I thought it would be an interesting blog post,  since I normally don’t post much on social commentary and Politics.

OH boy! An opinion piece!

So, my feelings on transgendered people using the bathroom of their choice… Who.  Flipping. Cares.

If you look like a chick, use the chick bathroom.  If you look like a dude, use the dude bathroom.  If you are a guy in a wig and heels living the feminine life and you want to use the ladies room because you identify as a woman, I honestly could not care less. There are stalls in there for a reason.

Maybe that makes me a bad Muslim, but I don’t expect other people to live their lives by my standards.

But what about safety?

Maybe I’m confused, but the last time I checked… Transgendered was not a synonym for pedophile, pervert, or deviant.  If someone identifies as or wants to be another gender doesn’t automatically mean they want to rape you or molest a child.  That’s a whole different thing.  Could there be overlap? Well,  sure… Just like any group of people can have some bad seeds.

For example, a friend of mine told me about a man who said they were transgendered (lied), went into the ladies room, and attacked a young girl.

Well, they weren’t transgendered then… Were they? Does that mean we need to police for LGBQ people too since they will be around the sex they are attracted to in the facilities? Do we need to ban all Muslims from the US because some are terrorists? Do we need to deport all Latin people because some are here illegally? I don’t think so…

But what about exposing their bits (transgendered females who have not changed their anatomy)?

First off, there are stalls in the ladies room.  There is no need to whip out your dingaling in a ladies room. If you are pretending to be trans so you can wave your pee pee at women, you will go to jail.  That’s called public indecency.  If you actually are transgendered and uncomfortable with your body,  I don’t think you’ll be whipping out the family jewels to share with everyone.

But what about hijab?

If you know about the rules of hijab (which I’m not here to argue about, these are the rules I know and apply to my life), Muslim women are advised to cover from head to toe with only their face, hands, and feet are shown.  So, if a transgendered person is using the bathroom or locker room with you,  what are you to do?

Well, if you honestly can’t tell if they are transgendered, then it isn’t your problem sister. You can’t be expected to do a cup check on every large female to make sure they aren’t a man.  Islam is about intention, and if you unintentionally take off your hijab infront of a man because you thought they were a woman, I honestly believe you are in the clear.

If you don’t feel comfortable, then you will have to make due with a plan B for your un-hijabed self.  Yes it sucks. Yes it’s not fun.  But it’s the world we live in. Our hijab is our responsibility and noone else’s.

But it’s all a lie!

Are you transgendered? If the answer is no, you can’t say if they are lying or not. You don’t know. You can’t know. You don’t have their experiences to base your opinions off of. There is a reason sympathy and empathy are two different words.

I mean, I’m honestly more frightened of people in an islamaphobic sociey carrying weapons all over the place than I am about a man dressed like a woman (or visa versa), but that’s another story for another time.

Leave a Reply

