American Things I Took For Granted…

In all of my excitement to move to Turkey eventually, there were a lot of things about the US I took for granted.

Some things I didn’t take for granted, but I still miss them dearly and wish I would have enjoyed them more when I was there.

Sure,  several of these things are still doable/available in Turkey,  but not at the same level of ease/confidence/etc that they were before.  You don’t know what you have until it’s gone!

1. Filtered coffee

If you haven’t noticed my lamenting on Instagram, my supply of filtered coffee is hard to come by.  I miss being able to walk into ANY grocery store and find a dozen different coffee options… Being able to buy a half decent coffee machine on the cheap! It’s basically a God given right in the US to have coffee.  But here? It’s kind of an elitist beverage and it’s expensive when you do find it!

2. Driving

I guess I could drive in Turkey, but I would probably die. People here drive like the rules don’t apply to them (which I guess they don’t, since the cops seem to be pretty “whatever”  as long as there isn’t an accident).  Walking and public transportation is fun, don’t get me wrong, but I would like the option to comfortably drive if I wanted to.

3. Etiquette

You don’t even realize how ingrained your behaviors are until you have to monitor them.  There are so many social norms in America culture that could get you in trouble in Turkey.  I took having an automatic APPROPRIATE response for granted!!

4. Walmart (and other stores)

I miss how, in the most part, goods in the US have specific stores to shop at that are basically everywhere.  Walmart, Ross, grocery chains, Target, and Best Buy for example.  I still haven’t found a mouth guard in Turkey and I’ve been looking for months!!! Where is Walmart when you need it?!  While the specialty shops here are “cute”,  ain’t nobody got time for running all over the city looking for one specific item!

5. Knowing the value of something

Because I grew up in America (and lived on my own for 6 years), I’ve come to learn the value of things.  Tomatoes by the pound, notebooks, jeans, toilet paper,  you name it.  I know what it should cost.  I’m sure it helps that I’ve worked in retail for a long time too.  But in Turkey? I’m just starting to figure it out.  Is ₺25 appropriate for this item? Hell if I know! My husband doesn’t even know the answer anymore! This makes it hard to buy things on my own.  For all I know,  a better deal is right around the corner.

6. Living On Our Own

This is one of those things I knew I would miss, but had no idea at the time it would be this bad. We had thought that we would have everything ironed out and be on our own in 6 months… Well, we are rolling up on month 10 and yet there is no end in sight.  I can’t believe I miss our tiny one bedroom apartment with all of two sticks of furniture in it!

7. Multicultural food

In Turkey you get Turkish food. And Turkish food.  And Turkish food. What’s a girl got to do to get a taco up in here?!  I would kill for some lo mein,  sushi, or a tuna sub from subway! Maybe you can find these things in Turkey, but they are NOT the same!  Not to mention other staples like a good chipotle salsa or sour cream!

Coming soon… Things that are better in Turkey than America!

 

 

3 thoughts on “American Things I Took For Granted…

  1. YES to all of this!! I’ve been living in Turkey for about 9 months now and I can totally relate to every single one of these things. The food and coffee especially got to me at first. I am a huge coffee addict and I don’t think I ever went a week without Mexican food prior to leaving the States. Luckily, Turk Khavesi has grown on me and I can make my own filtered coffee at home (plus there are some good places in Istanbul). As for the foreign food…well, I’ve gotten by on care packages and improvising. I also stumbled upon an amazing Moroccan restaurant the other day!

Leave a Reply

