Hello Turkey, Bye bye rights

Well well well, it happened again.

When I entered this private school system, I was told I was free to wear my scarf.  Lo and behold, that wasn’t the case!  Two weeks into working and I’ve been hit with new restrictions:

  1. No black scarf, ever.
  2. Nothing but turban style is accepted.

Well, when did this happen I wonder?  And why? After filtering down the chain of command, the information arrived to my fellow English teacher.  The school principal told the English Dept chair, and they told my coworker, and she told me.  I mean, it was better coming from her mouth because we’ve already formed a relationship (and bless the English chairs heart, she did NOT want to broach this subject.  She knew right away how ridiculous it was).

So after four or five instances of wearing a black turban, I was told I can’t do that anymore because it’s seen as “political”.  I’m not sure how, but ok.  Turkey is pretty crazy so it’s probably true. And I wore a more traditional style (around the neck and down the back, not covering the shoulders) once because the turban looked bad with my outfit.  Apparently that was also unacceptable.  Um…?

While I am partially mad that this is an issue at all (after having a discussion before I even started that this wouldn’t be), I’m mostly mad because this wasn’t laid out at the very beginning. This is stuff I need to know from day 1.  Maybe this info was passed on from down high, I have no idea, but I can tell you now I don’t blame the English department crew.  They had nothing to do with it.  I just don’t like changes being thrown at me like this.

The Chair even called me to make sure I wasn’t upset or thought that anyone had complained or said bad things about me. She encouraged my right to make my own choice regarding covering vs not covering, but that she had to convey this information to me.

Like I said, I’m not mad at her.  Hell, I’m grateful for being able to wear my scarf at all in a school.  And I have no intention of quitting (even though some people live in a world where they don’t need to work, and assume I live there too), because there’s not much better that I can do right now. Most other schools (hell, even most industries) won’t let me wear a scarf at all.

Because when you’re in Turkey…it’s bye bye rights.

4 thoughts on “Hello Turkey, Bye bye rights

  1. I’m so, so sorry to hear this. That’s just ridiculous all around. I’ve definitely experienced the passive-aggressive “through the grapevine” scolding, which totally rubbed me the wrong way. I feel that if someone is going to explain some kind of problem they have with me, it should come from that person directly and it should definitely not be spread among tons of other colleagues…that just makes it uncomfortable for everyone. I’m so surprised that this is even an issue…especially in Turkey!

  2. Ugh! I remember when I was teaching at a university and the scarf ban was still in place. The girls who wanted to wear hijab would go and change in the bathrooms. Some wore wigs. One day it was freezing and I was wearing a hat. I got called in to the boss and told I wasn’t allowed to cover my head 🙂 ah Turkey….. 😦 🙂 You have to laugh or else you’d cry!

Leave a Reply

