My Love/Hate Relationship with Teaching

It’s been a bit longer than a month since I’ve started teaching.

About 5 weeks since we got our books and started classes in earnest.

And I must say, I’ve developed quite the relationship with teaching.  Some days it is more love.  Some days it is more hate.  But it is definitely quite the mix.

As I had expected, the students are wild.  Wild-ish? Well, the ones who started out well behaved are being more and more naughty as the weeks progress; and the ones who were bad are learning how to behave.  What is this madness? For example, the second graders are now staying in their seats (mostly) instead of running around the room…but the 9th graders are fist fighting in the front of the room in the middle of class.

What is wrong with these people?

 Of course, having no real grade to give them, no tests, and not being on the “interactive” list on the computer doesn’t help.  Honestly, my class is a bit of a joke. No one takes it seriously, and I’m starting to not take it seriously either.  And the parents aren’t too helpful most of the time either.

But for some reason, when I see my students in the hall or outside of school completely, they pay more attention to me than they do in class! They will go out of there way to say hello, sometimes spending the whole lunch period trying to speak in English!

WHY!?!?

 When we have a good lesson, or when I hear them shout “HI TEACHER!” from across the street and run up to say hi, I love being a teacher.  The hours and pay certainly don’t hurt. But when they refuse to write the answers to their book activities, even AFTER I write them on the board…play with toys in my class…run around hollering…REFUSING to stop and listen to a SINGLE WORD I SAY.

At that moment, I really hate teaching.

It’s a big learning curve, moving from young adults (university) to children.  I hope it gets easier, and I find my own rhythm, because I want this career to work.  At least in Turkey, where it’s a very cushy job.  Man, but do you earn your pay in the war grounds…I mean class room!

NOTE: Follow me on Instagram tomorrow to see a day in the life of a teacher!

2 thoughts on “My Love/Hate Relationship with Teaching

  1. That sums up teaching pretty well! The highs are high and the lows are low. I’ve been lucky enough not to experience any fights and my students do get a grade for my class and have 4-6 exams for it per year, so most of them at least care about that. I taught French in the States and that was often a total joke, so I’m really grateful to teach a foreign language class that’s taken pretty seriously. I also love getting to prepare most of my own curriculum here, which makes it way more fun both for me and for the students. It’s so funny how some days a particular student may really get on your last nerve in class, but then you’ll see them at lunch or after school and they’ll be totally cool like nothing happened.

  2. My first teaching job in Turkey, many years ago, involved me being sent to teach spoiled 12 year olds in a private school in Istanbul once a week. The children were nuts and it was extremely stressful. Life improved tenfold when I switched to teaching adults and university students.

Leave a Reply

